Scholarships of the Carl Bechstein Foundation

Every three years the Carl Bechstein Foundation awards four scholarships to outstanding young pianists.

The nationwide competition "Jugend musiziert" has been organized by the German Music Council since 1964. Every year, several thousand children take part, and countless successful artists have emerged from it. Every three years, the Carl Bechstein Foundation selects four particularly talented pianists from among the numerous prizewinners in age group III and supports them with a scholarship for a period of up to three years.After the Foundation had been able to accompany the first four young musicians for three years and witness their musical development, the Carl Bechstein Foundation awarded four scholarships to outstanding young pianists for the second time in 2017. In 2020, many competitions had to be cancelled due to the restrictions imposed by the Corona pandemic, so that the new scholarships were awarded in cooperation with the junior institutes of the German music academies.

Funding has been provided since 2020:

  • Wilhelmine Freytag (*2007) from Borsdorf near Leipzig, student of Prof. Grigory Gruzman at the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar
  • Odric Aurelian Gaspers (*2005) from Berlin, student of Prof. Konrad Maria Engel at Julius-Stern-Instituts der Universität der Künste Berlin
  • Vincent Heeren (*2009) from Herne, since 2019 student of Prof. Henri Sigfridsson at the Folkwang Universität der Künste
  • Adele-Marie Schäfer (*2006) from Dresden, student of Mirjana Rajic at the Sächsisches Landesgymnasium für Musik Dresden

From 2017 to 2020 the foundation supported:

  • Victor Maria Schmidt (*2003)
  • Tabea Streicher (*2004)
  • Marvin Maung Tint (*2004)
  • Michelle Woo (*2003)

From 2014 to 2017 the foundation supported

  • Yumeka Nakagawa (*2001)
  • Marie Sophie Hauzel (* 2000)
  • Jens Scheuerbrandt (* 2000)
  • Ron Maxim Huang (*2001)

We wish all scholarship holders continued enjoyment of playing the piano and good progress in their musical development!

© Erich Malter/Bundeswettbewerb "Jugend musiziert"